Review: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

a discovery of witches.jpg

*3.5 – 4 Stars*

This one took me a while to read, and I read some other books at the same time. I kept telling myself to keep reading because it had such good reviews, and I could tell the story would be good if only I could get into it.

Well eventually, towards the end, I’d say the last 3/4 of the book – I got there. The story really picked up pace and I really wanted to know what would happen.

This story is very complex. There are a lot of complex terms and ideas I couldn’t always wrap my head around, but ultimately I could still follow the story.

The story is one of daemons, witches and vampires living among humans. Their strong dislike for each other, and among many other things, how there doesn’t have to be that adversity and dislike for each other. Theres a lot of challenge between creatures of the same kind, not just the different types of creatures and there are many things going on in this story and many underlying tones.

I can’t wait to read what happens next with this one, and there are many interesting characters, of course the main ones being Matthew and Diana.

This isn’t your typical Twilight type vampire novel – its so much more, and has much more adult complexities and theories happening throughout the entirety of the novel. Its unlike anything I’ve read, and I’m keen to see how this trilogy plays out.

Leave a Reply

