Review: Dark Lover by J R Ward (Black Dagger Brotherhood #1)

dark lover.jpg

*3.5 Stars*

This one took me a while to get into, it seems to drag at first.

Once I got into it, it was enjoyable though. I really liked Beth as a character. She’s strong and witty and she was enjoyable to read about. I also like Wrath of course.

Tohr and Wellsie were great secondary characters, even though Wellsie only comes into the novel towards the end. There’s just something loveable about her. Butch was also a character that grew on me. I really disliked him at first, but by the end I had changed my tune. I also quite liked Fritz of course.

I found the flipping POV’s in this one to be a bit annoying, it switched between too many characters. It would’ve been more enjoyable I think if it only switched between the two main characters and not some of the secondary ones as well.

The last 1/4 of the book really saved it for me. It really ramped up in all things involved in the storyline, and the Brotherhood became more likeable.

I’m curious about the next book and how things will play out, but I’m not 100% sure if I will continue with this series or not.

Leave a Reply

